Enter The Nether

Enter if you dare, Stay if you must, Welcome to my Asylum

Mr. Nobody

I wake up every morning, take a bath, brush my teeth, put on clean clothes, out the door for school, back before the sun sets, wash up again, turn on my laptop and do stuff on it until It’s almost midnight, and then off to bed for another dreamless sleep. Another regular day for plain old regular me. Don’t get me wrong I like boring days like this, at least I didn’t get robbed or anything right. All the stress that I need school can provide. There’s this thing that’s bothering me however, I really don’t know who I am. By this point you may be thinking “of course you know who you are, you’ve been living your life in that body for how many years now”, well that wasn’t really the point of my musing, you see I do know who I am as me, I know the things that I like and dislike, the people who mean so much to me and those who I’d rather not exist, and the traits that make me lovable or the object of utter hate. I know all of those things and much more about me but who am I as part of the People, you know the thing that the government should be made of, by and for. I’m biologically your average Filipino, brown skin and eyes, black hair and a reasonably flat nose. But when it comes to things that you actually become known for, I’m what you would call a global personality, My most fluent language is English, favorite comic(manga) is Japanese, Ideals I live by are part Western Democracy part Eastern Values, Movies I pay attention too are all foreign-made, 90% of the music I listen too aren’t OPM, and so much more, the list could go on and on and on and on. The truth is there is no such thing as a Filipino identity, our history isn’t even the slightest bit our own, all we remember are facts and figures that some other abusive race taught us as the whole and nothing but the truth. If you ask any decent person what makes a Filipino Filipino besides the obvious biological answer you’d get a plethora of answers like Pinoy Food, or hospitality or crab/colonial mentality or even as good english speakers, the point being there is no national identity, there is no one thing that sets us apart as a people, more so as a nation. That is one heck of a conundrum when you’re trying to motivate people to be Filipino and actually help out the Philippines when you don’t even know what a Filipino is. Don’t misunderstand, I’m all for uniqueness and individuality but when you think about it, one reason why some of our worst traits get amplified rather than our positive ones, why regionalism rules and nationalism comes to play once every other blue moon, It’s one reason why people turn to the West or in other places in the East for music and movies and literature, why we look down on our race and look up others. that is why up to this point in time i’m mr. nobody.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Mr. Nobody

  1. Brilliant, thanks, I will visit again later!

Leave a Reply

