Enter The Nether

Enter if you dare, Stay if you must, Welcome to my Asylum

The Search for Questions

    A big wall of darkness before me. A question hangs in the air “should I brave the darkness?”. The answer comes “yes, to see the stars”. I walk on slowly, one foot after the other, allowing my eyes to adjust. Total darkness turning to the concrete of a port only lit by starlight, brilliant starlight. Looking up, the stars take me. There’s Ursa Minor, Ursa Major, Libra, I can’t find Orion but I know it’s out there. Alone in the dim light, gazing at the numerous stars, the vast universe they represent. I don’t feel lonely, afraid or small.
 
     Science has taught me that the very molecules that make me up and everything around me come from the same solar crucibles, millions of years ago.  
 
    I am the thrashing of the sea, I am the breeze that blows through, I am the moon rising. I am everything as much as everything is me. it’s weird and fantastic, almost magical but it is true, and that makes it all the more wonderful and awe-inspiring. Inspiring enough to carry one off to lands rich in ideas and thought. One can do nothing but think and let the thoughts take lives of their own. There he stands as the world around him shifts and swirls, as he sees light. The dawn of a new age before him, he sees past and present and from that springs forth the bridges to the future.
 
    He thinks to himself: 
 
     ”’There are bigger questions than “Is there a God?” or “What is the purpose of my life?” and those questions have yet to be found. No individual will come across those questions. Only a species capable of overcoming it’s own prejudices.
 
The more we better the circumstances of the people around us the more people we free from the daily toil, the more people are free to join the search for both questions and answers.
 
I’d like to live in a world searching for those questions. Would you?”’
 
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

